Insania #203

Something to be proud of and to work for, with the fantastic result of liking herself so much more – this is Insania’s derby reality. The power of derby has changed not only her but also the people around her, including a supportive group of friends that come to watch her play and have become derby fans.  Her parents are involved with HRD volunteer work, including her dad whom is now a board member.  Sharing derby has made her family relationships stronger, giving them another aspect of life they have in common.  This positive and energetic gal plans to stay with HRD for a very long time.

Her passion for the organization and the sport is evident when discussing how long in the future she would love to be the president of HRD, helping to lead an organization that has changed her life for the better.  For her it comes down to the fact that “roller derby has changed my life so much. I am so happy.”

 

Your derby name, what was the inspiration/story behind the name?

There isn’t really a story behind my name.  When trying to decide I went through a ton of different options but none of them were great or felt special.  One week before we had to turn our names into the league I was asking everyone for ideas.

 What is your derby number?

203 – Its is the police code for Mayhem

 When did you start skating?

Before derby I went skating every now and then at the skating rinks, attending birthday parties and that sort of thing.  When I was really young I had rollerblades – such a different type of skating. I recently went to the rink and tried skating on rollerblades; it was so difficult after so much time on my quad skates.

 How did you get involved in derby?

Before derby I played softball for four years.  In 2013 I had been on a softball team with B-CRAZY (another Sapling) for a few years.  Our dad’s are good friends and her dad talked with my dad about B-CRAZY participating in derby.  At the time I had never heard of roller derby.  Three month before the skates skills class in 2013 B-CRAZY started encouraging me to check the Saplings team out.  It was just the right amount of time for me to contemplate the idea and decided to go for it.

 What is your favorite part about derby?

There are so many favorite parts it is difficult to pick. I would say the community is big for me. It is a big family and it is wonderful. It’s a contact sport for women, that makes me really happy.

 When talking about derby, how do you describe the Saplings?

If it comes up in conversation that I am on the Saplings team people usually have tons of questions. Most folks just don’t know the sport or don’t know it well.  Often after we talk about derby they express the desire to watch me play. People get really interested in the concept.

 What are you most looking forward to in the 2015 Season?

Improving my abilities and myself.  Helping to grow our team.  Playing in games. And just working at being amazing at derby.  When I think where I was when I started and where I am now, I never could have never imagined the positive changes.  Self-improvement is the best thing in the world, and there is so much of that in derby.

 What do you think about when you are lacing up your skates?

What I am going to focus on that particular skate. Usually 2-3 things I want to improve upon.

 Do you have a pregame ritual?

I basically am lazy the whole day.  About an hour or two before it is time to leave the house I start getting pumped up, jumping around.  I listen to upbeat music all day.  I will also wear my hip pads and some of my gear all day, getting in the mindset.

 Has your involvement in derby affected the way you live the rest of your life?

I have learned about being able to push myself as far as I can.  The self-confidence building and empowerment is indescribable.  The accomplishments in derby make you feel so wonderful.  The courage of believing you are able to do something and going for it. Before I started derby I was a completely different person; a much quitter and more shut down person.  Now I am more expressive and happier.  With derby my mindset changed, my body changed. Now I feel strong.

 Any advice for those who are thinking about skating?

Go for it! You will never know if you don’t.  Yah, it’s scary. Yah it’s tough. Just give it a try. It will be one of the best things you have ever decided to do!

Are you interested in joining the Saplings? Check out humboldtrollerderby.com/redwood-saplings  & Email saplings@humboldtrollerderby.com for information about the next training camp!

